Sunday, September 28, 2008

Intersection

After watching the video on Sal's page and talking about norms in class, I feel I have found an answer to many of the questions posed. In the video, in which people are crossing the street in India, the cars do have the right away. They are entitled to drive at the allowed speed, without being punished. The pedestrian that want to walk have to maneuver their way in order to get to the other side. I do agree that the driver know what they are doing, but it comes down to weather the walker knows the correct way to approach the situation. Although this is true, I feel American would do exactly what they are used to, and try to just run across the street, weaving in between cars. As the driver try to find your pace and time their speed, the usual American would find it very hard to cross.
One norm that I have experienced while traveling around the world, is that Americans think that when they are talking to individuals of another rave, they feel compelled to speak very slow and loud. Even though this would make sense, most of the people understand what you are saying and don't need the "special" treatment. I have also experience while in Europe that when the people that you "disrespect" by treating different, can turn on you and not respond, even if they do understand. I had went through all of my vacation, in Europe, with people understand mostly everything I said, but then the people started ignoring what I was saying at other places because they were sick of hearing from the "snobby" Americans.

1 comment:

Sal said...

You may be right - but I am still not letting you drive me around India! Haha. I think that the law is simply to not hit another person, but that doesn't mean you can't approach them as they cross. BTW, I think you meant race not "rave" in the latter part of your post.